

## CLARIFICATION ANNOUNCEMENT AND UNUSUAL PRICE MOVEMENT

This statement is made at the request of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

Fubon Bank (Hong Kong) Limited (the "Bank") notes that in various articles in a number of Chinese newspapers published in Hong Kong on 23 February 2008, it was reported that the Bank was going to acquire a 20% equity interest in Xiamen Commercial Bank at a consideration of RMB500 million. The Bank confirms that it has all along been actively looking for an investment opportunity in China by acquiring an equity stake in a mainland city commercial bank. However, no agreement has been entered into with any target banks to acquire any interest in any banks in China.

The Bank has also noted today an increase in the share price of the shares of the Bank and wishes to state that it is not aware of any reasons for such increase.

Save as disclosed above, the Bank confirms that there are no negotiations or agreements relating to intended acquisitions or realizations which are discloseable under Rule 13.23 of the Rules Governing Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited ("Listing Rules"), neither is the Board aware of any matter discloseable under the general obligation imposed by Rule 13.09 of the Listing Rules, which is or may be of a price-sensitive nature.

Made by the order of the Board, the Board of Directors of which individually and jointly accept responsibility for the accuracy of this statement.

## Shareholders of the Bank and investors are advised to exercise caution when dealing with the shares of the Bank and should not rely on press speculation.

By order of the Board of **Fubon Bank (Hong Kong) Limited Juliana Chiu Yuk Ching** *Company Secretary* 

Hong Kong, 25 February 2008

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Bank comprises Jin-Yi Lee (Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer), Chang Ming-Yuen, Michael, James Yip as Executive Directors; Ming-Hsing (Richard) Tsai (Chairman), Ming-Chung (Daniel) Tsai (Vice Chairman), Victor Kung, Chang Kuo-Chun, David as Non-Executive Directors; and Robert James Kenrick, Moses Tsang, Hung Shih as Independent Non-Executive Directors.