Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



FUBON BANK (HONG KONG) LIMITED

富邦銀行(香港)有限公司

(incorporated in Hong Kong under the Companies Ordinance)
(Stock Code: 636)

Profit Warning

The Board of Directors of Fubon Bank (Hong Kong) Limited ("the Bank") is pleased to announce that it expects the Bank's operating profit before costs incurred from the Lehman incident and impairment losses for the year ending 31 December 2009 to be in line with that for the year ended 31 December 2008. However, as indicated in the Bank's interim announcement, the Board expects the full year results to be impacted by a number of significant impairment charges. These include charges for the impairment of Lehman Minibonds repurchased from eligible customers under the Repurchase Agreement entered into between the Bank, the Hong Kong Monetary Authority, the Securities and Futures Commission, and the Distributing Banks on 22 July 2009. In addition, although the level of impaired loans has stabilized since the second quarter of 2009, further charges for impaired loans will be required in the second half of 2009. As a result of the above factors, the net profit of the Bank for the year ending 31 December 2009 is expected to be substantially below that of the previous year.

Shareholders of the Bank and potential investors are advised to exercise caution when dealing in the shares of the Bank.

By Order of the Board
Fubon Bank (Hong Kong) Limited
Pei-Hwa Thomas Liang

Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer

Hong Kong, 15 December 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Bank comprises Liang Pei Hwa, Thomas (Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer), Michael CHANG Ming-Yuen, James YIP as Executive Directors; Ming-Hsing (Richard) TSAI (Chairman), Ming-Chung (Daniel) TSAI (Vice Chairman), Victor KUNG, David CHANG Kuo-Chun as Non-Executive Directors; and Robert James KENRICK, Moses TSANG, Hung SHIH as Independent Non-Executive Directors.